bentART 2016

bentART 2016 opened on Friday 10 June, 2016 at 6:30pm and ran until Monday 13 June, 2016 at 2pm and was held at Wentworth Falls School of Arts, Wentworth Falls. Almost 1,000 people visited the exhibition over the weekend.

An artist talk took place on Saturday 10 June, 2016 at 3pm with artists Michelle Drage and Carl Milton.

The poster looked liked this:

bentART 2016 Eflyer

The sponsors for bentART 2016 were:

Alexandra Hotel Leura
Bendigo Bank Katoomba

Wentworth Falls Animal Hospital
Harmony at Home Blackheath
Scenic World Blue Mountains
McGrath Real Estate Wentworth Falls
Hopetree Framing and Art Wentworth Falls
The Three Sisters Social Group
Klipt Kanines & Splash and Dash for Dogs
Yindi Day Spa Katoomba
Lily’s Pad Cafe Leura

The following people made up the Management Committee for bentART 2016:

President – Hilda Mavromati
Vice President – Sue Lightfoot
Treasurer – Jo Hibbert
Secretary – Robyn Auld
Committee Members – Jonathan Llewellyn, Pamela Briant, Julianne McWhirter

bentART 2016 Judges
Catherine O’Donnell – Master of Fine Arts (Drawing), National Art School and a Bachelor of Fine Arts (Distinction and Dean’s Medal), University of Western Sydney
Matthys Gerber – Senior Lecturer, Painting, University of Sydney, Sydney College of the Arts.
Both artists exhibit their work on a regular basis.

bentART 2016 Curator
Tim Allen, College of Fine Arts, UNSW

bentART 2016 Prize Winners
59 artists exhibited a total of 135 works, excluding the Smartphoneograpy category.  There were a record number of 19 first time exhibitors.

bentART Overall Winner:
Amie Matheson for “Untitled

Category Winners:
Painting Wade Goring for “Trio
Photography Jochen Letsch for “Galactic Mistress” herself a mushroom oddity
Sculpture and Alternative Media Regine Wagner for “Totem Poles (We are Family)
Printing and Drawing Michelle Drage for “Flowering Gum
New Entrant Bianca Wolff for “Goddess Reborn

Highly Commended Winners:
Painting Peter Scriven for “Ficus Maximus Reginium
Photography Jamie Newton for “Mystique
Sculpture and Alternative Media Christian Thomas for “Angel of the Mountain
Printmaking and Drawing Liz Mortiss for “Deerling Apparition

Hangers’ Prize:
Sue Lightfoot for “Connections” (equal first) Christian Thomas for “Angel of the Mountain

Jochen Letsch for “Brothers

People’s Choice Award:
Mary-Louise Keating for “Ben